That’s all Folks (for QSE, that is!)

On December 31st 2023, I have ended my activities as organizer of stamp exchanges.

I wish the 80 members who stayed on until the final days a happy 2024 and a successful continuation of this great hobby.

Pierre

About Historic information on Quality Stamp Exchanger and Philatelic Friends Exchange Circuit

In philately since 1957; active in stamp exchange since 1986; Owner of the Philatelic Frinds Exchange Circuit since 2006; Owner of the Quality Stamp Exchanger since 2019; Retired stamp exchange organizer since January 1st, 2024.
This entry was posted in Geen categorie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s all Folks (for QSE, that is!)

  1. deebeestamps says:

    Hi Pierre

    Received this notification a couple of days ago. It has been sitting there while I work out what to say. There was a chance I would return to QSE as Sierra has now ended as well from early December. My main reason for not continuing with QSE was the inability to get recent stocks of Australia. When COVID hit my source dipped alarmingly and I am now getting 25% of what I was getting before COVID. My second local contact has dipped even further as they have taken their office from Whyalla to Port Lincoln some 170 miles south of here. I might get 20 stamps every 3 months if I am lucky and of course no Grahame to help either as he passed away. The Whyalla Stamp Group is now me and the only enquiries I get is from amateurs wanting me to buy collections that they value in the hundreds or higher which are worth about $20 to me and boy do they get upset when I tell them if they disagree with me then go to a dealer in Adelaide. One did and got back to me to let me know the dealer took one quick look at what he had and showed him the door. Dealers want very cheap buys so they can make a profit when they sell but these amateurs are experts. I did not stop corresponding with you by choice but in early August I lost my computer for almost a month and when I got it back I had lost my entire Address book and all my eMails – they are on my computer somewhere but I do not know how to get to them. I have my latest 2023 Australian catalogue almost up to date to send out and I have started 2024. I will send you copies when I send to others. I am much saddened that you are not continuing to be involved in stamp circuits as it is definitely the best way to go for collectors. I now have three trading partners – Frank Brown in Canada and he and I have swapped Scans of stamps for several years now and have traded in excess of 2500 stamps each way doing it this way and 99% are stamps we did not have. The only negative is that Frank has not found a way to provide me with Canadian stamps and everyone seems to not have the stamps I need to fill gaps – I am lucky to have received 100 Canadian stamps from him. I am starting the same setup with Carol from Sierra and she is picking the best ex members of Sierra for form trading with. I am also going to trade with Orna Etzion in Israel but this has not yet started as Post to Israel is difficult at the moment. I would like to resume my quest for Belgium but I have a very large number that need to be put away first. Gustave deGreefe and I had a great relationship until he passed away and since then I have hardly touched it – it is setup until the year of his death but as said I need to address it. At the moment I am cataloguing Hungary and Eire and have been trying to fill gaps there but not with much success. I am financially stripped at the moment as my youngest granddaughter gave up school and I lost her Government money – she is yet to lodge herself with the government so I do not need to look after her but has been slack doing it. When she finalises that I will be back to normal. I have been listing lots of New Zealand MNH to sell at half catalogue value but it is not selling well as yet. I am not sure exactly how you are going to be involved in Philately in the future but would like to thank you for past friendship (and hopefully future even if it is just keeping in touch) and also to wish you all the best in the future – may your future aspirations come to fruition.

    Daryle

    Sent from Mail for Windows

  2. deebeestamps says:

    Pierre

    Can you please send me your eMail address so I can put you back into my address book – could find it nowhere and I cannot get it from the eMail you sent.

    Daryle

    Sent from Mail for Windows

Leave a comment