February news

Dear Friends,

In January some important developments occurred as regards PFEC administration. I received a lot of feedback and was finally capable to assess properly the status of the administration.

When I presided my first annual meeting in 2005, a letter by Bob Olds was read out suggesting that we had 1500 members.

At the restart, there were 400 that could not even be found. Gustave and I deleted 250 from that list of members found, leaving 850 to start from. In the december newsletter, I have already written to you that this had to be reduced to 700 and my guess was that it would shrink to 600. 

However, more than 300 of these 600, I have not seen on return circuits. After a shocking feedback from Daniel Remy (#805), who had about 50% response, I decided to take drastic measures:

All members that I have not seen on the return circuits are placed on a B-list. The members on the B-list will be placed one at a time on circuits and the member receiving this name will be warned about that. I shall write to the individual members of the B-list myself to find out their position on a regular basis. If you wish to volunteer to write to some of these potential ex-members to speed up the completion of the administrative cleaning process, let me know.

 

PFEC 2007

On January 31st, we have dispatched the list of participants to the tour operator. So far we have 29 participants for the venue on the Channel Islands.
One of the subjects for the annual meeting is the the location of PFEC 2008. So far we have 3 cities nominated for the primaries. You can vote on these by email or by letter, provided that you intend to participate.

You can also nominate another city, yourself.

Two nominated cities will go to the final vote at PFEC 2007 on Jersey.

You can follow the vote on the PFEC website:  http://home.hetnet.nl/~pfecsite

 

Personals

On January 30th, I had a brief conversation with Gustave. He has been released from hospital, but he is very weak. He has to take things very easy and as long as he does so, he is OK. He thanks all that send their good wishes and asks for a little patience with response to letters and exchange requests.

Gustave also sent me the obituary of Anna Oberchristl, who passed away on November 21st , 2006. I had a few good exchanges with Anna over the past three years and she always sent me good stamps.

Best regards,

Pierre

About Historic information on Quality Stamp Exchanger and Philatelic Friends Exchange Circuit

In philately since 1957; active in stamp exchange since 1986; Owner of the Philatelic Frinds Exchange Circuit since 2006; Owner of the Quality Stamp Exchanger since 2019; Retired stamp exchange organizer since January 1st, 2024.
This entry was posted in Geen categorie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment